Learn Hebrew online
Israel Elections   |   Israel Hotels   |   Peace Process   |   Cities in Israel   |   Aliyah   
Back to: Jewish Web
Israel Election 2006 Final Results
[All Election Updates]
Thursday, March 30, 2006
Official Results with 100% of the votes counted.

Kadima 29 seats
Labor-Meimad Party 20 seats
Shas 12 seats
Yisrael Beiteinu 11 seats
Likud 12 seats
National Union 9 seats
Gil 7 seats
Torah Judaism & Shabbat 6 seats
Balad 3 seats
Hadash 3 seats
Meretz 5 seats
Ra'am Ta'al 3 seats

Aleh Yarok 0 seats
Brit Olam 0 seats
D'am 0 seats
Green Party 0 seats
Hazit 0 seats
Herut 0 seats
Hetz 0 seats
Lev 0 seats
Lechem 0 seats
Leidar 0 seats
National Arab Party 0 seats
New Zionist Party 0 seats
Oz La'anim 0 seats
One Future 0 seats
Shinui 0 seats
Tafnit 0 seats
Tsedek L'Kol 0 seats
Tsomet 0 seats
War Against The Banks Party 0 seats

Tuesday, March 28, 2006
22:00 Exit Polls:
Channel 1 : Kadima 29, Labor 22, Yisrael Beitenu 14
Channel 10 : Kadima 31, Labor 20, Likud 12, Yisrael Beitenu 12
Channel 2 : Kadima 32, Labor 22, Yisrael Beitenu 13, Likud 11

20:00 By 8pm only 57% of votes have been cast. This compares to 62.8% in 2003.

18:00 By 6pm only 47% of votes have been cast. This compares to 52.8% in 2003.

16:00 By 4pm only 39% of votes have been cast. This compares to 44.2% in 2003.

14:00 By 2pm only 30.9% of votes have been cast. This compares lower than in 2003 which was 35.3% at this time. Experts are predicting the lowest turnout ever in Israeli elections.

07:00 Voting is underway for th 17th Knesset. In 8,280 locations across Israel, Polling Stations opened at 7am for the 5,014,622 eligible voters. They will remain open until 10pm.

Sunday, March 26, 2006
Eligible voters must present one of the following identification documents when voting:
  • ID Card with Photo (Te'udat zehut)
  • Valid Israeli Passport with Photo
  • Valid Israeli Driver's license with photo,
  • Knesset member's certificate.
Monday, March 20, 2006
The following surplus votes agreements have been made:
  • Labor-Meimad with Meretz
  • Shas with Agudat Yisrael-Degel Hatorah
  • Hadash with Balad-National Democtratic Assembly
  • Yisrael Beitenu with Likud
Kadima has not signed a surplus vote agreement with any party.
Monday, March 20, 2006
According to the election law, the right of free transport applies to eligible voters who on Election Day are in a locality over 20km in distance from the area of jurisdiction of the locality where the polling station at which they should vote is situated.
Friday, March 17, 2006
El Al and Israir are offering special cheap flight deals for Israelis living in the USA who want to come back to Israel for a short trip in order to cast their vote. In Israel Election law there is no postal votes.
Friday, March 10, 2006
The following people have the right to vote for this election. He/She had held Israel citizenship since 2/2/06. He/She is reached the age of 18 years old no later than 28/3/88. His/Her name and address appears on the Population Registry as of 8/2/06
Thursday, March 9, 2006
Poll (Dialog for Channel 10 - Haaretz): Kadima 37 Seats, Labor 19 Seats, Likud 17 Seats, Shas 10 Seats, National Union 10 Seats, Yisrael Beiteinu 8 Seats
Thursday, March 9, 2006
According to latest polls, there are 24 seats available which are attributed to floating voters.
Thursday, March 9, 2006
A total of 495,000 viewers watched the election commercials broadcast on the three main channels.
Thursday, March 2, 2006
Poll (Channel 10 - Haaretz): Kadima 37 Seats, Labor 19 Seats, Likud 15 Seats, Shas 10 Seats, National Union-NRP 11 Seats, Yisrael Beiteinu 7 Seats, United Torah Judaism 6 Seats, Meretz 6 Seats.
Thursday, February 23, 2006
Poll (Channel 10 - Haaretz): Kadima 39 Seats, Labor 19 Seats, Likud 14 Seats, Shas 9 Seats, National Union-NRP 11 Seats, Yisrael Beiteinu 7 Seats, United Torah Judaism 7 Seats, Meretz 5 Seats.
[All Election Updates]
Israel Political Parties standing in the Elections.
Aleh Yarok
Brit Olam
Da'am - Workers Party
Green Party
Hazit - National Jewish Front
Hetz - Zionist Secular Party
Labor-Meimad Party
National Arab Party
National Union
New Zionism
Oz La'anim
One Future
Ra'am Ta'al
Stuggle with the Banks
Tafnit - A new agenda for Israel
Torah Judaism & Shabbat
Tsedek Lakol
Yisrael Beiteinu

Israel Political Sites
Bibi Netanyahu
Communist Party of Israel
Gush Shalom
Peace Now
Virtual Library Israel Parties
Yossi Beilin

Yisrael Beitenu


Israel's Prime Ministers
2001- Ariel Sharon
1999-01 Ehud Barak
1996-99 Bibi Netanyahu
1995-96 Shimon Peres
1992-95 Yitzchak Rabin
1986-92 Yitzchak Shamir
1984-86 Shimon Peres
1983-84 Yitzchak Shamir
1977-83 Menachem Begin
1974-77 Yitzchak Rabin
1969-74 Golda Meir
1963-69 Levi Eshkol
1955-63 David Ben Gurion
1954-55 Moshe Sharett
1948-54 David Ben Gurion


Quick Facts
•The Knesset is the parliament of Israel
•There are 120 member seats in the Knesset
•Any Israeli citizen 18 or over can vote
•Absentee ballots from abroad are not allowed except Israeli embassy employees
•Elections take place every four years unless early elections are called by the Knesset

Home   |   About Us   |   FAQs   |   Contact Us  |   Newsletter  |   Submit Sites  |   Advertise
Copyright © MavenSearch, 1994 - 2007. All rights reserved.

Send Chicken Soup
Send a unique gift today - send chicken soup to a loved one

Dead Sea Natural SkinCare
Low Price Guarantee!
Save on Soaps, Creams, Salts
Free Samples,
Secure Site